Technology in Careers

Social Media Strategist

  • Platinum Innovation Group
  • http://job-openings.monster.com/Social-Media-Strategist-Detroit-MI-US-Platinum-Innovation-Group/31/f18127a1-761c-4e48-bf17-27eff1e94b90
    • Expertise in social media strategies, technologies, platforms, services and measurement techniques (3+ years)
    • Demonstrated experience creating and executing a social media strategy that builds fan base, increases engagement and drives conversion
    • Analytical-minded and well-versed with social analytical tools and reporting
    • Strong copywriting skills leveraging SEO / SMO techniques
    • Extensive experience in social media copywriting & community management
    • Must be a “self-starter” with the ability to excel in a fast-paced, entrepreneurial environment with minimal supervision
  • For this position, I think gaining more experience with SEO/SMO would give me the biggest advantage as a candidate. Social media/creating social media content is a skill I already list on my resume and I believe that increasing my analytics skills would help tremendously and open up the door for other jobs.

Social Marketing Content Provider

  • Olympia Development
  • https://www.indeed.com/viewjob?jk=d475c2e031f596a6&q=public+relations&l=Detroit%2C+MI&tk=1blp2gkc41a5f357&from=web
    • Bachelor’s Degree in marketing, communications or business required.
    • Demonstrated experience and a passion for the social technology universe (i.e.: Facebook, Twitter, YouTube).
    • Ability to work with little supervision.
    • Computer proficiency in Photo Shop, In-Design, HTML, switch file converters and file transfer protocols sites and Microsoft Office.
  • I think just gaining more experience in the advertising/PR field would make me a more legitimate candidate for this position. I possess most of the skills required, but where I lack most is experience — using my personal skillset in a professional setting, in my opinion, would make me more attractive to the employer.

Account Executive, Social Media

Marketing & Social Media Manager

Account Executive

  • The Mars Agency
  • https://www.linkedin.com/jobs/view/398278967/
    • Bachelor’s degree in advertising, marketing, business or related field
    • Strong computer skills and proficiency in Word, Excel and PowerPoint
    • Ability to manage time, adhere to strict timelines, multitask and work well under pressure
  • This is another position that would interest me as a post-graduation landing spot. Although I lack the experience, the job duties are right up my alley. Much like some of the previously mentioned positions, I believe that actual agency experience would allow me to carry out these duties well.

Marketing (Social Media) Manager

  • 4th Arrow
  • https://www.indeed.com/cmp/4th-Arrow/jobs/Marketing-Manager-a7f016b148afc400?q=communications
    • 3-5 years marketing experience, with emphasis on social media management.
    • Have a passion for marketing and web marketing tactics.
    • Some travel required, openness to attend trade shows.
  • I think this is another position that would be a good landing spot after graduation. The responsibilities require more basic/entry-level digital skills, and again, more professional experience would make me a legitimate candidate for this position.

Digital Account Manager – Social Media

Social Media Producer

Social Media Coordinator

  • Jerrick Media
  • https://www.indeed.com/cmp/Jerrick-Media/jobs/Social-Media-Coordinator-d2c869d5a73ba8f9?q=public+relations
    • Be proficient in social media platforms such as Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.
    • Have a bachelor’s degree.
    • Have strong interpersonal, written and verbal communication skills.
  • Yet another social media position that I would be interested in applying for. Social media/digital content is what I have worked the most with and is what I want to do after graduation. However, my experience with social media analytics is limited and I feel that gaining experience with that could help me land this position.

Account Manager

  • Porter Novelli
  • https://www.indeed.com/viewjob?jk=cc15da612b7a6179&q=porter+novelli&tk=1blpccn1j1a5d39n&from=web
    • Minimum of seven years experience in the public relations industry.
    • Demonstrate expertise in areas of: strategic program planning, managing program implementation, media relations success, budget and project management, staff time allocation, and staff mentoring.
    • Bachelor’s degree, preferably in communications, journalism, English, or public relations-related focus.
  • I saved this position for last because it closely resembles my ideal job. I want to work for a respected public relations firm in a bigger city. I’m aware that landing a job like this isn’t realistic directly after college, there will be a lot I need to work on in order to have a chance — increase my SEO and analytics knowledge, enhance my leadership and teamwork abilities and gain more professional experience, to name a few.
Leave a Reply

